Technically there isn't a rule that allows an RO to grant a re-shoot under those circumstances is there? As your friend and rival I would have been fine had the original run stood. I would consider it good karma coming back to you.
as your friendly neighborhood CRO, it appears to me that the RO can grant a reshoot, but can't order one if the competitor is unwilling, for example because he's a big name sponsored shooter by keltec or sig or hi-point and results are more important to him than honor, even if he has kids that are learning to shoot and will one day be dismayed to find out their father cheats. I can only imagine what tom bradys kids would be like if his wife wasn't really a man.
9.7.4 A score sheet signed by both a competitor and a Range Officer is conclusive evidence that the course of fire has been completed, and that the time, scores and penalties recorded on the score sheet are accurate and uncontested. The signed score sheet is deemed to be a definitive document. It may only be changed to add penalties under Rule 8.6.2, or to correct arithmetical errors, or by mutual consent of the competitor and the originating Range Officer, or due to an arbitration decision. Changes are defined as modifications to the score sheet after both parties have signed off on the score sheet.
I totally disagree with your other point tho. It's good karma if Carl hits a calibration shot high on a popper that everyone knows is fucked. It's cheating if you knowingly accept a score that is not yours... plain and simple. Admittedly it gets dicier and harder to identify if it's only 25% of the stage time rather than 40-50% like in the instance we were involved in. Also not all big time shooters have access to video, or tools like shot coach to verify the time is wrong. I can see not realizing the time was wrong initially in such a case.
For example, I was videoing Tim Herron (the world's nicest guy, btw, and sponsored by Sig, a company that makes great guns and sponsors reputable and talented shooters) and he had a mike on a blazing fast stage. He was somewhat incredulous and thought it might have been a double, but I showed him my vid and we could clearly see him pulling off the target before the shot broke. Without that video to review, he might have wondered....