#1 RMJack

RMJack

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 94 posts
  • LocationPortland OR

Posted 30 June 2017 - 08:18 AM

Got an actual shooting question (crazy, right?)

I've been ramping up the dry fire for a few months, and have noticed my right hand draw (single hand) is much faster and better than my freestyle draw. Like .2 seconds better and usually more 'indexed'.

I'm pretty sure the slower draw is due to building the grip when using both hands. 

Any thoughts or recommendations on how to improve the speed of my freestyle draw?

TIA!

• Dentalor and DanielKr like this

#2 ToddKS

ToddKS

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,310 posts
  • LocationGetting killed in the streets

Posted 30 June 2017 - 09:02 AM

How do the results compare in live fire? Is the SHO draw still faster and more accurate?

#3 Doc

Doc

Google ( o Y o ) SME

• Moderators
  • 3,977 posts

Posted 30 June 2017 - 09:04 AM

How do the results compare in live fire? Is the SHO draw still faster and more accurate?

Not likely.
Unload and Show Clear...
tsarbombaexplos2.jpg
"Licorne" French Polynesia 1970

It pins my irony meter when people post things like "your to stupid..."

#4 Sweet T

Sweet T

Glock Master Race

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,392 posts

Posted 30 June 2017 - 10:02 AM

I'm pretty sure the slower draw is due to building the grip when using both hands. 

Any thoughts or recommendations on how to improve the speed of my freestyle draw?

TIA!

Where is your support hand going or what is it doing when the buzzer goes off?

Are you "chasing" the gun with the support hand during extension?

Generally speaking, you want to build the grip in the very early part of the draw, so logically you want the support hand to be near the gun as soon as the timer goes beep.