Photo

RO Lectures - Save the "might happen" lectures and do your job.

uspsa ro range officer nroi

• Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#1 Scooter.Mcgrooter

Scooter.Mcgrooter

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 18 September 2017 - 01:46 PM

I'll preface this by saying I am a card-carrying range officer, match director, club president, and open master. This isn't new territory. (Posting on this forum is, I mean in the actual-real-life-real-world place). Evidently it's a breach of etiquette to post something like this before making an assload of posts first. Apologies.

I recently shot a level 2 match and the first stage we shot had a somewhat elderly CRO running the shooters, and proceeded to give each of us a little lecture. Here's what happened:

I finish shooting, remove the magazine, rack the slide and WATCH THE ROUND EXIT THE CHAMBER and catch it (as I've done for a couple years, I'm not going to debate the merits of this here). I then hold the slide open for the RO to verify. He looks at it, says "if clear hammer down" and then says "You need to look too". So I stare at him blankly for a moment, tilt the gun slightly, stare at my chamber, tilt it back for him to look again. He then finishes the command and gives me the following advice:

"See, if you had a broken extractor and there was still a round in the gun it would go off when you drop the hammer and you'd be going home". Being the wanna-be professional I am, I stare at him for a moment again and say "thank you".