6 replies to this topic

#1 Beef

Beef

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • LocationNC

Posted 06 December 2017 - 01:49 PM

I started shooting USPSA in Aug '16. Started in Production classified C, shot Limited major for a couple months classed C, went back to Pro % has crawled up but still C, got bored and frustrated switched to CO in October unclassified not looking good, but matches my abysmal match performance usually landing somewhere around mid pack 45-55% of high overall. Last couple matches had some major ammo related jams and a badly botched unloaded start or I may have actually broken out of that area a little. Got a hundo so the ammo situation should be squared.

I shoot about 75% of points available and 70% As, most of the points down and non A hits I'd venture are on classifiers and stages heavy with hard cover and no shoots. With the dot I'm generally shooting as many or more points than the division stage winner, I didn't pay attention to this before.

Practice mostly consists of dry fire I try for 20/30 minutes 5 nights a week, mostly using Ben's book, or I might set up small stages. With production gear I thought I was doing pretty good meeting the par times on draw, reload, transitions, and other stuff, I think I was lying to myself about "hits", when I switched to the dot I was about 0.2s over on most of them but sure A "hits", I've whittled many of the fundamentals to the par beep. I live fire practice once a week if I don't shoot a match, it's been pretty unstructured, but I'm working on that.