27 replies to this topic

#1 gentleman4561

gentleman4561

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • LocationAtlanta, GA

Posted 01 July 2018 - 07:03 PM

After reading over the range diaries of the local production heat I aspire to be one day, I felt it would be beneficial to start one my self.

As a bit of background, I started shooting IDPA in 2012 before quickly moving onto 3 gun. Since then I have primarily shot 3 gun and long range/sniper matches.

I had mild success in both but never focused hard enough on one or the other to reap the rewards of deliberate practice.

After winning a local sniper comp last November, the man who is essentially my shooting father/mentor had a conversation with me about my shooting. What he essentially said is that it is incredibly difficult to shoot so many different sports well and that I ought to focus on one specifically.  One of his children is a multiple-time national champ and member of the AMU, so he has a good idea of what he is talking about.  

After that conversation, I decided that I would make pistol shooting my primary focus. After all, I carry a handgun at all times and noticed that talented USPSA shooters generally performed well in 3 Gun.

At this time I had shot 3-4 USPSA matches, in limited minor with my 9mm 2011, but never pursued USPSA seriously.  It is not uncommon for my local matches to have 5+ Production GMs, so the decision to shoot production was an easy one to make, as I didn’t want to shoot a division that I would always win. 

I had an old Glock 34, but went ahead and got a CZ S2 as that seems to be what all the cool kids use. Looking back now, I think I would have better spent the $1500 I have in my Shadow 2 and gear on some high-level classes.  But, I am not disappointed with the S2.